After a data breach last year, Google announced an imminent shut down of the consumer version of Google Plus. The firm has now made clear exactly when it’s shutting own Google Plus this year, and it’s the day after April Fools day – the 2nd of April.

 

The product will suffer the death of a thousand cuts before then, stain from Monday. By the time April 2nd comes around, it’ll simply to flick the lights off and usher out the stragglers in the room.

 

Google has broken down the shutdown timeline out, saying:

As early as February 4th, you will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events. S

If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community.

If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons.

If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019.

 

Google Plus — while not being poplar — became a site for niche communities in the end.  While it will remain a joke for most of the internet, for some it’ll be a lost meeting space.

Source: Google